History-Makers: New York Claim First All-Ireland Junior Football Title

Michael Dorgan Twitter thumbnailJuly 16, 2023 By Michael Dorgan

New York 0-13 Kilkenny 1-9

All-Ireland Junior Football Championship Final

New York is rising — in case you didn’t already know!

New York claimed its first All-Ireland Junior title at Croke Park on Sunday with a come-from-behind win over Kilkenny.

Trailing by two points with just four minutes of normal time remaining, the all-American-born side drew level and then Brian Coughlan stepped up and nailed a superb point to cap a dramatic win over the Cats — and in the process getting one over on the rivals who beat them in the final last year

New York had led by  0-7 to 0-3 at half-time but didn’t score for 20 minutes in the second half as Kilkenny rallied and overtook the Exiles.

But Johnny McGeeney’s charges were not to be undone and rallied in the dying stretch to net a famous victory.

More to follow……..

The win comes after the seniors won their first Connacht championship game with a win over Leitrim in April, the senior hurlers taking the Connacht Hurling League shield while the New York colleges won the Corn na Mac Leinn Cup for the first time.

Meanwhile, New York Girls won Back-to-Back Feiles recently while the boys U17 Football Development team Clinched Mary McPartland Cup

Scorers for New York: Shay McElligot 0-6 (0-4f), Conor Mathers 0-3, Thomas Shalvey 0-1, CJ Molloy 0-1 (0-1f), Emmet Loughran 0-1, Brian Coughlan 0-1.

Scorers for Kilkenny: Mick Kenny 1-2 (0-2f), James Carroll 0-3 (0-1f), Mick Malone 0-1, Conor Hennessy 0-1, Ciaran Quilty 0-1, Rory Monks 0-1.

New York: Ryan Corrigan; Dylan Curran, Peter Cronin, Paidi Mathers; Colm Shalvey, Kevin Rafferty, Mikey Boyle; Conor Mathers, Gearoid Kennedy; Danny Corridan, Brian Coughlan, Thomas Shalvey; Shane Slattery, CJ Molloy, Shay McElligot.

Subs: Chris Mulvihill for Molloy 39, Emmet Loughran for T Shalvey 39, Kaelan Walsh for Slattery 46, Ian Kavanagh for C Shalvey 49, Aiden Lawler for Walsh 61.

Kilkenny: Ciaran Farnan; Shane Kelly, Nathan Sherry, James Darmody; Kevin Blanchfield, Tom Kenny, Ger Malone; Tom Aylward, Jim Culleton; Conor Hennessy, Jamie Holohan, Mick Kenny; James Carroll, Ian Duggan, Mick Malone.

Subs: Joe Fennelly h/t, Ciaran Quilty for Aylward h/t, Rory Monks for Duggan 36, Adam Mansfield for Kenny 44, Mark Hender for Culleton 57.

Referee: David Murnane (Cork).